Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Feb 16, 19, 06:17 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Google Search

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 104263
  • Total Topics: 11554
  • Online Today: 21
  • Online Ever: 141
  • (Oct 30, 18, 08:49 AM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 9
Total: 9

Themes

Author Topic: interesting story about electric cars..  (Read 103 times)

Offline Baron

• Foreskin
  • Barfly
  • Bogle Points: 102
  • Hedgecat
interesting story about electric cars..
« on: Jan 15, 19, 11:17 AM »
Sounds reasonable to me. It's a bit long, so make a coffee/tea/brandy, make your self comfy and off you go.
It's American (not corrected the spelling... ;D), but it probably makes sense here.

THE PINEHURST PRESS NEWS & VIEWS

BY T J & WEBB--Interesting Take on Electric Cars

As an engineer I love the electric vehicle technology.

However, I have been troubled for a longtime by the fact that the electrical energy to keep the batteries charged has to come from the grid and that means more power generation and a huge increase in the distribution infrastructure.

Whether generated from coal, gas, oil, wind or sun, installed generation capacity is limited.

You should all take a look at this short article.

IF ELECTRIC CARS DO NOT USE GASOLINE, THEY WILL NOT PARTICIPATE IN PAYING A GASOLINE TAX ON EVERY GALLON THAT IS SOLD FOR AUTOMOBILES, WHICH WAS ENACTED SOME YEARS AGO TO HELP TO MAINTAIN OUR ROADS ANDBRIDGES.

THEY WILL USE THE ROADS, BUT WILL NOT PAY FOR THEIR MAINTENANCE!

In case you were thinking of buying hybrid or an electric car:

Ever since the advent of electric cars, the REAL cost per mile of those things has never been discussed.

All you ever heard was the mpg in terms of gasoline, with nary a mention of the cost of electricity to run it .

This is the first article I've ever seen and tells the story pretty much as I expected it to.